For end user information, see Updates & Messages.
To enable updates and access Updates settings described on this page, go to the Admin panel: Content section > Updates & Shout-outs page, Updates tab.
Allow users to share updates
To enable updates, switch the Allow Updates toggle to ON. Click Save at the bottom of the page.
When Updates are turned ON, the Updates tab and Share an Update field are displayed in the Homepage Activity Card, Group page Activity Cards and Profile page Activity Cards. Allow Updates must be ON to be able to turn Allow Shout-outs to ON. When Shout-outs are turned ON, the Shout-outs tab and Send a Shout-out field are displayed in the Homepage Activity Card, Group page Activity Cards, and Profile page Activity Cards. To learn more, see Shout-outs settings & reports.
When a user sends an update, they can send it to Everyone (all users), or they can send it to a specific group, if these options are enabled.
Select the checkbox Allow Updates for everyone to allow users to send update messages that will appear in all users' homepage Activity Cards.
Select the checkbox Allow Updates for groups to allow users to send update messages that will appear on the group page Activity Card, and the homepage Activity Cards of group members.
Select the checkbox Allow people to leave comments on Updates to allow users to start conversations on updates.
After changing any of these settings, click Save at the bottom of the page.
Users can leave a message for coworkers on their profile pages, and they can see it in the Updates tab on their profile page, or in the Highlights or Updates tabs of their Homepage activity. Note that these messages are not private - they can be viewed by everyone on the intranet.
Select the checkbox Allow Messages on profile pages to allow users to send messages to individual coworkers on their profile pages.
Once the above checkbox is selected, you can also select Display profile page messages on the Homepage Activity card to allow these messages to appear to a user in their Homepage Activity, as well as on their profile page.
After changing these settings, click Save at the bottom of the page.
Allowed time to edit
After posting an update or message, a user may want to make changes to it. The user can do this by clicking the three dots on the top right of the update, and clicking Edit for (2) min before the end of the timespan set by the administrator. The default timespan is two minutes. After editing and saving an update or message, the user will have another timespan during which they can edit the update or message.
Email notifications for updates are not sent until the allowed time to edit has expired. So if the allowed time to edit is set to 30 minutes, the email notification will not be sent until after the 30 minute timespan has expired. If the user edits the update within that timespan, when the user saves the update, another 30 minute timespan will start, and the email notification will not be sent until that timespan has expired.
To change the allowed time to edit, enter the desired timespan in minutes in the Allowed time to edit box. Click Save at the bottom of the page.